Your Ad Here

PDA

View Full Version : XP Antivirus 2008


TheMule
08-27-2008, 04:29 PM
Pretty good article on this PoS malware. Hopefully everyone on CT has been smart enough to avoid it. Click on page 2 to begin the rest of the article.


Anatomy of a malware scam

The evil genius of XP Antivirus 2008

Page: 1 2 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page2.html) 3 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page3.html) 4 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page4.html) 5 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page5.html) 6 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page6.html) 7 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page7.html) 8 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page8.html) Next > (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page2.html)
By Jesper M. Johansson (http://forms.theregister.co.uk/mail_author/?story_url=/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/) → More by this author (http://search.theregister.co.uk/?author=Jesper%20M.%20Johansson)
Published Friday 22nd August 2008 18:45 GMT

Anyone who has a blog has probably seen blog spam; comments to the blog that simply try to entice people to go to some other site. Most of the time the site being advertised is simply trying to boost its search engine rankings to generate more ad revenue.
The more links there are to a site, the more popular the search engines figure it is, and the higher up in the search results it ends up. Blog spam, therefore, is frequently thought to be a good way to boost the search engine rankings. In some cases this turns malicious. Some sites engage in wholesale intellectual property theft to boost their rankings (https://msinfluentials.com/blogs/jesper/archive/2007/12/20/idthieves-org-and-its-ilk-are-unauthorized-blog-mirrors-stealing-intellectual-property.aspx).
A few of weeks ago, however, I started noticing something far more insidious. I moderate all comments to my blog. This is something I started years ago to keep the blog somewhat family friendly, and to avoid propagating malicious content. Recently I also completely disabled trackbacks to avoid boosting the search engine rankings for sites that steal my work. This means I see every comment that comes into my blog. The other day I noticed one that contained nothing more than a link to a fake Google site: google-images.google-us.info/index.html.
This looked very suspicious to me so I made a note of it. Over the next several weeks I noticed a lot more of these, not only pointing to Google but also to Yahoo and MSN. The servers they pointed to all had the same basic structure, such as google-homepage.google-us.info, msn-us.info, yahoo-us.info, etc. Every one resolves to the same IP address: 124.217.253.8. That IP address is registered to Piradius.net in Singapore. The server appears to be hosted out of Kuala Lumpur. The domains, however, are registered in Ukraine:
Registrant Name: ermua Registrant Organization: santa banta Registrant Street1: lenina str. 43/67 Registrant City: Kiev Registrant State/Province: Registrant Postal Code: 0444 Registrant Country: RU Registrant Phone: 044.763238 Registrant Email: yura_gpz@mail.ruDomaintools.com confirms this. You will soon see a related domain, xpantivirus.com. That one is registered to Chebotarev Oleksandr, in Odessa, Ukraine (http://whois.domaintools.com/xpantivirus.com). This had me very curious and I wanted to know more about what this site was attempting to achieve. Consequently, I fired up a virtual machine and started investigating. What I found was an interesting tale of trickery.
Page: 1 2 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page2.html) 3 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page3.html) 4 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page4.html) 5 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page5.html) 6 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page6.html) 7 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page7.html) 8 (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page8.html) Next > (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08/22/anatomy_of_a_hack/page2.html)

khosk
08-27-2008, 05:11 PM
I have been helping a friend who has a successful blog fight spammers over the past week. I was able to stop it and get his site back but it just made me so mad that somebody would do this. Here is a guy who makes no money, just blogs for the fun of it and has a very informative blog that lots of people read. He built up a high Google page rank and a decent sized audience so some piece of you know what takes advantage of him to peddle smut for a few dollars. It makes me sick to my stomach.

Jay3Fan
08-27-2008, 05:30 PM
I have seen this infection many times. It took a while to find a reliable solution but I finally found the "go to" software for this. Antimalwarebytes Antimalware. It is a free download, link below.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

Lant
08-27-2008, 07:12 PM
I just had to refomat my hard drive because of this crap. It took over my system and g=changed my wallpaper to read that I had malware on my system and need to download xpantivirus to get rid of it. I just said screw it and reformatted.

TheMule
08-27-2008, 10:24 PM
I just had to refomat my hard drive because of this crap. It took over my system and g=changed my wallpaper to read that I had malware on my system and need to download xpantivirus to get rid of it. I just said screw it and reformatted.

Reformatting is the only thing I'm comfortable will completely get rid of it. Malwarebytes is good as well as Smitfraud Remover. A$$holes like these guys have just about ruined the internet for the average person.