CockyTalk

CockyTalk (http://www.cockytalk.com/index.php)
-   The Water Cooler (http://www.cockytalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Fighting a "Rolled Through Stop Sign" Ticket. Worth it? (http://www.cockytalk.com/showthread.php?t=206691)

ColaCock 05-21-2014 06:13 PM

Fighting a "Rolled Through Stop Sign" Ticket. Worth it?

About an hour ago on my way home, I pass through a 4-way stop that I go through every single day. I'm a pretty cautious driver because something serious would affect my employment and I don't speed because I don't believe it gets you anywhere significantly faster. Never had a citation in my life before.

At any rate, there was a moped in front of me as I approached the stop sign. The moped scooted about 2 lengths of the moped in front of me and came to a stop while I came up behind him and stopped (at the actual line) then crept forward looking left and right then cross the intersection.

After 30 seconds, I heard a siren and noticed the lights behind me. A 4'7" policewoman tells me I rolled through the stop sign and asked if I was distracted or in a hurry, which I was not. I told her I'm certain I stopped and have never been issued a traffic violation in my life and that I go through that intersection 2 times a day. She issued a $153 citation.

Do I have any chance in hell of fighting this in court or just pay up? It's only $153, but I can find a lot of other things to throw that cash at.

Any thing I should do to prepare myself in fighting it? Photos of intersection? Check to see if line is well painted? Obstructed at all?

Or am I pissing my time away and the one wearing the badge is always going to be right?

trapper82 05-21-2014 06:22 PM

Re: Fighting a "Rolled Through Stop Sign" Ticket. Worth it?

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColaCock (Post 4164198)