CockyTalk

CockyTalk (http://www.cockytalk.com/index.php)
-   Carolina Eats (http://www.cockytalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Smoothies (http://www.cockytalk.com/showthread.php?t=207047)

Travelin 06-05-2014 07:36 AM

Smoothies

I've been making my own smoothies for years, but a few months ago I started including them in my daily diet.

I definitely feel better each day. I've lost the excess weight and just enjoy having them twice a day.

I try to stick with the basics, but always like to try something new that's nutritious.

Just curious if many of you make your own smoothies and which are your favorites.

I grow blueberries, Rasberries, Strawberries and blackberries, so naturally these are usually my fruits of choice with pineapple, kiwi, pear the ones I buy, chop up and freeze to use that week.

I normally use unflavored Greek Yogurt.

milk

a natural fruit juice

Cinnamon

Honey as sweetners. I also put in a teaspoon of Manuka Honey when I have it. Same with Maple Syrup(instead of honey)...

I keep them simple, but would like to hear how you guys make yours.

Cockypantherfan 06-05-2014 08:06 AM

Re: Smoothies

Sounds good. I make a killer protein smoothie.

Some ice, blueberries or raspberries, one banana, some natural cocoa powder, a little honey, one Tbsp of peanut butter, one or one and a half scoops of protein powder, some non fat Greek yogurt (plain), and some water.

Cock Kool-Aid 06-05-2014 08:16 AM

About the same... depending on what I've got at the house... I normally just throw in a mix of fruit (fresh or frozen), a few scoops of nonfat plain greek yogurt, some milk (preferably almond) and blend it. If I have Kale, I will put that in as well... not bad at all mixed with the fruit. If I don't have milk, or want something a little different, then I use whatever type of fruit juice I have. I've never felt that I needed to add anything for additional sweetness or protein... the nonfat greek yogurt seems have enough protein in it already.