Originally Posted by uscGRAD04
I think it's weird that during a FG a holder can be on a knee, catch the snap and then get up and throw a pass. Seems like they would be ruled down. I know it's the rule but it's just kinda weird.
I halfway agree. If the player is serving only as the holder for a kick, then he should be allowed to have the knee down without being called down, but if his role changes (very obviously not just holding the ball), then I think he should have to pick his knee up before receiving the ball. QBs aren't allowed to receive a snap with one knee down and do anything with the ball, so why is the holder?