CockyTalk

Welcome to Cockytalk!

Thank you for visiting our forum. As a guest, you have limited access to view some discussion and articles. By joining our free community, you will be able to view all discussions and articles, post your own topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos, participate in Pick'Em contests and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today!!

If you have any problems registering or logging in, please contact our Admins. Thanks!

Go Back   CockyTalk > Community > The Water Cooler

Today's Top 10
Posters (by posts)Threads (by views)Newest Posts Gamecock Headlines 
COCKYTALKIN
Spurticus
b381l
sanford
thekob
usc1
B-G
TAFC 5 1981
Master Bedroom
markp_vip
Lattimore Sidelined (1063)
Gurley or Davis (1043)
Expect A Healthy Dos (826)
Steve Spurrier - Say (773)
Coach's media golf p (491)
A house just blew up (360)
college football mat (355)
South Carolina Footb (355)
Minda Kacinas Q& (180)
iPhone repair (150)
Expect A Healthy Dose of
college football match up
iPhone repair
Gamecock Showcase Attende
2016 - Bryan Edwards
Official SEC Network and
2014-15 Premier League se
3-4 defense my interpreta
Lattimore Sidelined By Le
Kick e'm Horns!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2014, 03:11 PM   #1
wjmfour1
Walk On
 
wjmfour1's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 17
CockyCash: 500
wjmfour1 has hatched from the shell
Default Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Comcast has begun trialing data limits on internet usage in select markets including Atlanta, Augusta, Savannah & Charleston SC. I received a phone call & email alerting me I was @ 90% of my limit in 15 days. Anyone know if AT&T or others have this limit? I'm in SC but considered Augusta market. Also as far as I know we have not gotten the SEC network either. Satellite companies are hitting neighborhoods with flyers trying to gain business saying they will carry it.
wjmfour1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 04:06 PM   #2
Cockypantherfan
1st Team All-SEC
 
Cockypantherfan's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,596
CockyCash: 200
Cockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot materialCockypantherfan is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Comcast are the Clemson of internet/tv suppliers. They think they are good, but nobody likes / respects them.
Cockypantherfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 04:42 PM   #3
bigdog2003
Future Coaching Legend
 
bigdog2003's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Posts: 5,631
CockyCash: 999762
bigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot materialbigdog2003 is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Dishnet has similar data limits.
__________________
I think it would be awesome if you could get Morgan Freeman's voice on a GPS. It would be like he's narrating your travels

bigdog2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:10 PM   #4
The Yancey
Grumpy Old Fart
 
The Yancey's Avatar
 
Male

2009 Awards: Awards for best Posters - Given for: Best Signature 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunshinny Florida
Posts: 19,703
CockyCash: 4751350
The Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

When you create monopolies that is what you get.
__________________


#ModForMod
The Yancey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:14 PM   #5
FlorenceCock
1st Team All-American
 
FlorenceCock's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Darlington SC
Posts: 13,107
CockyCash: 1200000
FlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot materialFlorenceCock is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Wait how are they tracking just your wifi data usage? Do you have to use a Comcast supplied wireless router with their service? I could see them tracking your total data usage with the modem firmware but why would they care just about your wifi data usage as opposed to your overall?
__________________
FlorenceCock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:38 PM   #6
Gamecocks1137
Bowl MVP
 
Gamecocks1137's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: On The Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 2,410
CockyCash: 500
Gamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

AT&T Uverse, which is the internet provider I have does not do this.
__________________
"I'd rather be anywhere other than Clemson."

"Are you a millionaire right now?" 'Nah, not yet. I'm still broke." - Jadeveon Clowney

Cockytalk's own conspiracy theorist.
Gamecocks1137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:43 PM   #7
ccured
What a Rush!!!
 
ccured's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: columbia sc
Posts: 7,924
CockyCash: 5955916
ccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot materialccured is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlorenceCock View Post
Wait how are they tracking just your wifi data usage? Do you have to use a Comcast supplied wireless router with their service? I could see them tracking your total data usage with the modem firmware but why would they care just about your wifi data usage as opposed to your overall?
in his post he doesnt' say wifi like in title. I agree with you probably total data
ccured is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:59 PM   #8
wjmfour1
Walk On
 
wjmfour1's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 17
CockyCash: 500
wjmfour1 has hatched from the shell
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccured View Post
in his post he doesnt' say wifi like in title. I agree with you probably total data
Yes it is total data although I refered to it as wifi. That is the only way we use internet in our home as we have no hardwired conn
ections. I wonder if our Comcast phone uses data toward this limit?
wjmfour1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:02 PM   #9
wjmfour1
Walk On
 
wjmfour1's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 17
CockyCash: 500
wjmfour1 has hatched from the shell
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamecocks1137 View Post
AT&T Uverse, which is the internet provider I have does not do this.
Is this considered DSL? I'm not sure we have Uverse in my area.
wjmfour1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:13 PM   #10
Gamecocks1137
Bowl MVP
 
Gamecocks1137's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: On The Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 2,410
CockyCash: 500
Gamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot materialGamecocks1137 is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjmfour1 View Post
Is this considered DSL? I'm not sure we have Uverse in my area.
Uverse is basically high speed DSL yes. They provide you a modem that emitts Wifi so you don't have to buy a router. They do not have data limits either, as far as I know. Never had a problem, except for the crappy customer service, but that is everywhere.
__________________
"I'd rather be anywhere other than Clemson."

"Are you a millionaire right now?" 'Nah, not yet. I'm still broke." - Jadeveon Clowney

Cockytalk's own conspiracy theorist.
Gamecocks1137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 12:12 AM   #11
The Yancey
Grumpy Old Fart
 
The Yancey's Avatar
 
Male

2009 Awards: Awards for best Posters - Given for: Best Signature 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunshinny Florida
Posts: 19,703
CockyCash: 4751350
The Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot materialThe Yancey is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjmfour1 View Post
Is this considered DSL? I'm not sure we have Uverse in my area.
It is fiber. I switched to it a few years back.
__________________


#ModForMod
The Yancey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 12:55 AM   #12
Order 66
2nd Team All-American
 
Order 66's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cayce
Posts: 8,552
CockyCash: 100500
Order 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot materialOrder 66 is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

I see TWC hitting us with this the first chance they get.
__________________
CU is in Colorado, Death Valley is in Louisiana, and THE state university in South Carolina is, and always will be, THE University of South Carolina. Tweet that....
Order 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 07:01 AM   #13
Spur's Addiction
Been caught moddin'...
 
Spur's Addiction's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raaaawlee, NC
Posts: 11,282
CockyCash: 200
Spur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot materialSpur's Addiction is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamecocks1137 View Post
Uverse is basically high speed DSL yes. They provide you a modem that emitts Wifi so you don't have to buy a router. They do not have data limits either, as far as I know. Never had a problem, except for the crappy customer service, but that is everywhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Yancey View Post
It is fiber. I switched to it a few years back.
It's really a hybrid fiber / dsl system.

It is fiber to your neighborhood, but then switches to DSL for the last bit to you house using the traditional phone line. This increases the speed significantly over traditional DSL because it very much reduces the distance it has to run on the old copper phone wiring.

I have had it for about 3-4 years and have been very pleased with the quality of service. Though customer service is horrible, like they all are.
__________________
Spur's Addiction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:01 AM   #14
crowcutta
2nd Team All-American
 
crowcutta's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: land de la rich
Posts: 7,894
CockyCash: 1000
crowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot materialcrowcutta is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Order 66 View Post
I see TWC hitting us with this the first chance they get.
especially if the merger goes through im guessing. how many gigs of a data cap does comcast have? im asking because im assuming its ridiculously low.
crowcutta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:23 AM   #15
cocky0
The Slurp
 
cocky0's Avatar
 
Male

2009 Awards: Awards for best Posters - Given for: Best Signature 2008 Cockytalk Award: 2008 Cockytalk Award - Given for: 2008 Fark of the Year Christmas Farking Contest: Christmas Farking Contest - Given for: Winning Farking Contest 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampton, SC
Posts: 5,894
CockyCash: 26100000
cocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot materialcocky0 is USC mascot material
Send a message via Yahoo to cocky0
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowcutta View Post
especially if the merger goes through im guessing. how many gigs of a data cap does comcast have? im asking because im assuming its ridiculously low.
300GB/mo.

I just recently switched to Comcast, not because I'm a glutton for punishment, but because it still beats the shit out of Centurylink's pitiful 10Mbps down/1Mbps up. By switching, I got 50/10 and finally access to ESPN3. Anyways so far these are the only two providers in town, so I'm basically just picking my poison at this point. I'm already estimating I'll go over by 50-100GB each month which will cost me an extra $20 per month.
__________________
cocky0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:35 AM   #16
wjmfour1
Walk On
 
wjmfour1's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 17
CockyCash: 500
wjmfour1 has hatched from the shell
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowcutta View Post
especially if the merger goes through im guessing. how many gigs of a data cap does comcast have? im asking because im assuming its ridiculously low.
The email said 300GB but I could buy additional 50GB chunks for $10 after my "LIMIT"
wjmfour1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:55 AM   #17
86 GradCock
7 Year Plan
 
86 GradCock's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 589
CockyCash: 1450
86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly86 GradCock is crowing loudly
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spur's Addiction View Post
It's really a hybrid fiber / dsl system.

It is fiber to your neighborhood, but then switches to DSL for the last bit to you house using the traditional phone line. This increases the speed significantly over traditional DSL because it very much reduces the distance it has to run on the old copper phone wiring.

I have had it for about 3-4 years and have been very pleased with the quality of service. Though customer service is horrible, like they all are.
They may be updating to all fiber networks soon. AT&T just ran fiber in our neighborhood. They dug up my front yard about a month ago and technicians have been working to connect all of the houses. I am seriously considering dumping Comcast after 24 years of being a customer.
86 GradCock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 11:59 AM   #18
jayceecock
Blue Chip
 
jayceecock's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chucktown, SC
Posts: 693
CockyCash: 573
jayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPitjayceecock rules the CockPit
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

I do have a question for Comcast subscribers.

A few months ago, Comcast sent me a box with a new modem and router. They said if I'm accessing XFINITY with an old modem, I'm not taking advantage of their new speed plans and they strongly urge me to upgrade.

I haven't hooked up the new equipment because I am perfectly happy with my current set up. I pay extra for Blast, my internet is plenty fast for my purpose and I have not encountered any problems. Why change something when it runs smoothly and serves my purpose just fine.

Now I'm receiving calls weekly from Comcast with a recorded message to switch.

Any thoughts?
jayceecock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 12:01 PM   #19
TheUniversityofSC
NSA Agent
 
TheUniversityofSC's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nm
Posts: 798
CockyCash: 500
TheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot materialTheUniversityofSC is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Is this just for private or for businesses as well.
__________________
TheUniversityofSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 12:46 PM   #20
johnnyb
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
 
johnnyb's Avatar
 
Male

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: He's Everywhere!
Posts: 21,212
CockyCash: 1731674488
johnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot materialjohnnyb is USC mascot material
Default Re: Comcast wifi data limits in select markets

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayceecock View Post
I do have a question for Comcast subscribers.

A few months ago, Comcast sent me a box with a new modem and router. They said if I'm accessing XFINITY with an old modem, I'm not taking advantage of their new speed plans and they strongly urge me to upgrade.

I haven't hooked up the new equipment because I am perfectly happy with my current set up. I pay extra for Blast, my internet is plenty fast for my purpose and I have not encountered any problems. Why change something when it runs smoothly and serves my purpose just fine.

Now I'm receiving calls weekly from Comcast with a recorded message to switch.

Any thoughts?
is the old modem a router also with wifi?
__________________
#notgonnahappen
To argue with a man who has renounced the use and authority of reason is like administering medicine to the dead.
johnnyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Provided by SLB Development